Priors, Vicars and Officiants

of the Church of St Gregory the Great, Morville

1118 to 2023

| | Appointed | Position |
|---------------------------------------|---|---|
| John | occurs 1220 | Prior |
| John Wallensis | occurs 1253 | Prior |
| Luke de Wenlock | occurs 1277 | Prior |
| John Perle | occurs 1353 | Prior |
| Walter | occurs 1364 | Prior |
| William Rocbury | occurs 1414 | Prior |
| William Ball | occurs 1450 | Prior |
| John Coly | occurs 1480 | Prior |
| Robert Marschald | occurs 1484 | Prior |
| Thomas Jonys | occurs 1485 | Prior |
| William Gough | occurs 1518 | Prior |
| Richard Broughton | before 1529 | Prior |
| Richard Marshall alias Baker | 1529 | Prior |
| Edwd Rushburye | before 1537 | Chaplain |
| Roger Purslow | 1537 | Chaplain |
| - | Dissolution of Shrewsbury Abbey 24th January 1540 | |
| Thomas Tarte | 1568 | Curate |
| Francis Lewis | 1587 | Curate |
| Richard Nixon | 1587 | Curate |
| John Raban | 1668 | Curate |
| George Lemm | 1673 | Curate |
| Timothy Collins | 1710 | Curate |
| Charles Tucker | 1759 | Curate |
| George Hugh Haslewood | 1797 | Perpetual Curate |
| John Hanbury | 1821 | Curate |
| Charles Oakes | 1824 | Curate |
| Vacant | 1830 | |
| William Boulton | 1833 | Curate |
| William George Leigh Wasey | 1840 | Perpetual Curate |
| Horatio James Ward | 1877 | Vicar |
| William Heaton | 1893 | Vicar |
| George Swift | 1900 | Vicar |
| Percy Lancelot Hunt | 1904 | Vicar |
| Goodwin Purcell | 1910 | Vicar |
| George Atkinson | 1922 | Vicar |
| Arthur Jones Phillips | 1927 | Vicar |
| George Follis | 1932 | Vicar |
| Terence Scott Rogerson | 1937 | Vicar |
| Thomas Stanton | 1948 | Vicar |
| Reginald George Bennett | 1952 | Vicar |
| Vacant | 1957 | |
| Gwyn Hopkins | 1958 | Vicar |
| Hugh Patterson | 1974 | Honorary Curate |
| Sarah Cawdell | 2021 | Team Vicar |
| Vacant | 2023 | |
| Bridgnorth Team Ministry Appointments | | |
| Andrew Roberts | 2008 | Priest in Charge |
| Simon Cawdell | 2010 | Team Rector and Priest in Charge Team Curate |
| Clive Munday | 2018 | ream Curate |

In addition to the above list the following clergy have undertaken ministry in the Morville group of parishes from 1976 to 2018: Reverends Maurice Smalley, Sydney Thomson, Brian Smith, John Deakin, Walter Attoe, John Ward, Reginald Commander and Thomas Parker.

Information Sources

The identification of the monks who became the Priors is shown according to information located when this list was prepared. This list has been compiled by reference to: Victorian County History Vol II; Cantelupe Society List; Clergy of the Church of England database; Bishop of Hereford Register; Crockfords Directory.

This list was prepared to commemorate the 900th anniversary of the dedication of St Gregory the Great Church by Mr T.B. Morris, a Church Warden July 2018